Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 29, 2023

The Honorable Ken Calvert Chairman House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Defense 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Betty McCollum Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Defense 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Calvert and Ranking Member McCollum:

We write to respectfully request your continued support for the U.S. Department of Defense's (DoD) Humanitarian Demining Research and Development (HD R&D) Program, implemented by the U.S. Army. The HD R&D Program specializes in developing and testing innovative technologies to detect and clear landmines, unexploded ordnance (UXO), and improvised explosive devices (IEDs). These technologies increase the effectiveness, efficiency, and safety of demining operations for military and humanitarian use, saving lives and taxpayer dollars.

The HD R&D team designs technologies to respond to technical challenges in the field, drawing from new commercial technology, equipment currently in use by the DoD, and advanced sensor technology available only through other DoD R&D programs. They then trial prototypes in real field conditions through partnerships with the Department of State's (DoS) humanitarian demining programs. During field evaluations, operators provide feedback on the functionality and effectiveness of the equipment. This allows HD R&D to modify and improve the equipment and increase the U.S. technical capacity to respond to explosive threats.

HD R&D generates three specific lines of effort. First, the field evaluation cycle collects enormous amounts of data helping to improve detection technologies used by our soldiers. Second, successfully trialed equipment is used to train and equip explosive disposal units of allied militaries. By equipping partner militaries to handle their own explosive threats, U.S. soldiers are more likely to remain out of harm's way. Third, HD R&D equipment amplifies taxpayer value for money by increasing the amount of clearance performed on DoS projects without increasing costs.

The HD R&D Program has a track record of success, having performed over 250 operational field evaluations in 43 countries since 1995. The program is responsible for developing advanced technology for the Handheld Standoff Mine Detection System, which combines metal detection with ground penetrating radar, the rotary mine comb, designed to efficiently excavate low metal content anti-vehicle mines, and TRAXX, built to cut through hard-to-see tripwires and lift mines from soil. Overall, HD R&D equipment has been used to clear more than 25,300 acres of land, and to destroy more than 400,000 mines and UXO.

As you know, HD R&D receives funding from Research, Development, Test & Evaluation, Army / Program Element 0603920A.

Due to strong bipartisan support, the program received \$21 million in Fiscal Year 2023. However, this program has a long list of unfunded projects it is waiting to trial, including counter-IED machines in Iraq and Libya, and amphibious excavators in Sri Lanka. The HD R&D program also requires resources to address the heavy contamination and varied threat types across Ukraine, where the program is beginning to evaluate advanced attachments to John Deere equipment and U.S.-manufactured remote demining robots.

We urge the committee to support funding at a level of \$23 million in Fiscal Year 2024 for HD R&D. This additional funding will improve the ability of U.S. soldiers and our allies' ability to safely detect and clear landmines, UXO, and IEDs as well as protect civilian lives. This funding is especially important as new conflicts uncover new threats in Ukraine, the Middle East, and Libya.

We appreciate your consideration and look forward to working with you throughout the appropriations process to save many military and civilian lives.

Sincerely,

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

masy Hackha

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

chroo

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

timmy Panetta Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Kasheda Glaik

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

nay MCBat

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

illin R. Keating

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Trank Pallow.

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell C Member of Congress

ris Pappas

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Janament.

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Lenor

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

tott fehrende

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

hartellam

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyen Jr. Member of Congress

na

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Iral

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

<u>Abigail Davis Spanberger</u>

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Sames A Himes Member of Congress

a lata

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Biel Pascrule fr Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Tobir

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Con

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Januick, Kiedez

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

E

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

phana Hayes

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Ainde J. Jain

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Perez Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

110

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Yord

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

lin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

Mall

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

halmak

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Rick Zamen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

munu

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Bill Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress